United States imposes travel ban on North Korea and 7 others

The six-country travel ban ordered by US President Donald Trump expire with the White House considering further measures

The six-country travel ban ordered by US President Donald Trump expire with the White House considering further measures

The justices ordered further briefing on whether the new presidential proclamation, which indefinitely restricts travel from Iran, Libya, Syria, Yemen, Somalia, Chad and North Korea, would render the prior case moot. Speaking on the ban issuance, Trump tweeted saying that making America safe was his number one priority. Although the proclamation Trump signed on Sunday adds two non-Muslim-majority countries to the list of nations subject to travel restrictions, North Korea and Venezuela, civil liberties and immigrant advocacy groups say that isn't enough to fix the problems that prompted them to sue over the president's previous orders.

"This is a critical step toward establishing an immigration system that protects Americans' safety and security in an era of risky terrorism and transnational crime", the White House said in a statement. "We will not admit those into our country we can not safely vet".

After considerable advance speculation, the president has issued a new travel restriction order to replace most of the highly controversial and much-litigated temporary order issued in January and revised in March. Officials say the new restrictions go into place October 18. The fact that Trump has added North Korea - with few visitors to the USA - and a few government officials from Venezuela doesn't obfuscate the real fact that the administration's order is still a Muslim ban. But the new proclamation removed restrictions that were placed on Sudan.

The restrictions are targeted at countries that the Department of Homeland Security says fail to share sufficient information with the USA or haven't taken necessary security precautions.

Trump cited reasons such as poor security and lack of cooperation with USA authorities for including the nations on the travel ban list.

West Ham United launch shirt auction in aid of Mexican earthquake relief
As for Spurs, Harry Kane will return to the starting eleven, after being rested in the 1-0 Carabao Cup win over Barnsley. Tottenham , meanwhile, seek victory in their opening three away league fixtures for the first time since 1991.

The U.S. Supreme Court cancelled oral arguments scheduled in October to decide the legality of President Donald Trump's previous travel ban, signalling the court might dismiss the case.

That includes: having previously worked or studied in the U.S.; having previously established "significant contacts" in the U.S.; and having "significant business or professional obligations" in the U.S. Still, officials acknowledged the waiver restrictions were narrower than the exemptions for people with bona fide ties to the United States that the Supreme Court mandated before the expiring order went into effect in late June. "That means that students already in the United States can finish their studies and employees of businesses in the United States who are from the targeted countries may stay for as long as their existing visas remain valid".

Sudan was dropped from the list of banned countries after the Sudanese government provided information required under the new criteria set out by the Trump administration earlier this year, a White House official said on Monday.

President Nicolas Maduro has called those sanctions a financial blockade against the country, which is grappling with triple-digit inflation and chronic product shortages as its economy unravels.

Recommended News

We are pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news.
Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper.
Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.