Opposition Leaders Throw Tear Gas Inside Chambers of Kosovo Parliament

Kosovo parliament was filled with tear gas after opposition lawyers used it to delay a vote

Kosovo parliament was filled with tear gas after opposition lawyers used it to delay a vote

Kosovo is now the only country in Europe that can not travel visa-free to the EU.

The opposition Self-Determination party, which used tear in the Kosovo Assembly chambers to stop the vote, says Kosovo loses territory under the agreement.

The opposition members used three tear gas canisters just as the vote was about to start, according to The Independent.

The collapse of votes for the border demarcation agreement and another proposal seeking to give more rights to the ethnic Serb minority toppled the previous government and took the country to an early election a year ago.

The party is firmly opposed to the border deal claiming it would deprive the Balkan nation of several thousand hectares of land.

After the tear gas was released, the session was put on hold until the smoke has cleared, broadcaster RTK said.

Police said seven MPs from the main opposition nationalist leftist Vetevendosje (Self-Determination) party were arrested after searches.

The opposition party Vetevendosje is adamantly against the agreement with Montenegro, signed in 2015.

Prime Minister Ramush Haradinaj welcomed the vote.

Lakers see positives in Randle-IT sideline dispute
If he does, Kevon Looney would be in for extended minutes with David West (arm) in line for more when he returns. Of the other 13 games he's played with the Lakers , though, Thomas has served as a reserve.

Montenegro has already approved the deal.

Kosovo opposition lawmakers throw tear gas for the third time before the vote for agreement on border demarcation with Montenegro during a parliamentary session in Pristina, Kosovo on March 21, 2018.

The worldwide community had repeatedly called on Pristina to resolve the issue.

More than 100 members rushed out as the tear gas poured through parliament.

Greg Delawie, the United States ambassador to Kosovo, denounced the incident saying, "Violence as a political tool has no place in Kosovo".

But in neighbouring Kosovo, the previous government failed to secure a majority and finally fell in mid-2017.

The Montenegrin parliament swiftly ratified the agreement after it was reached in 2015.

The United States and 23 of the EU's 28 member states now recognize Kosovo as an independent country.

Recommended News

We are pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news.
Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper.
Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.